Number One Master of Horror

Darren Shan is one of my favourite authors ever – my  boyfriend laughs at me for reading children’s books, but I’ve been reading Darren Shan books since I was about 14, I’m definitely not going to stop now!

When I was in school, a few of my friends were reading a book called Cirque Du Freak, so out of interest, I loaned it from the library. When my mum bought me the Saga of Darren Shan for Christmas, I got lost in a world of vampires, vampaneze, snakeboys and bearded ladies.

After the Saga of Darren Shan, I got hooked on the Demonata, a 10 book story about the demon world. Waiting for the latest book in the series to come out was always so exciting. I even met Darren Shan in June 2007 when Blood Beast was released.

Image

He has since written books for adults under the name D B Shan. The City Trilogy took me ages to get into, but on a trip home from London, I managed to read the first book, Procession of the Dead, which revolves around gangsters and ancient priests who hold a rule over the city, then powered through the second and third. I love the feeling of not being able to put a book down.

I met Darren Shan again recently, after the release of Brothers to the Death, the final book in the Saga of Larten Crepsley – a sort of prequel to the Saga of Darren Shan. My boyfriend forced me to buy his book and go have it signed, considering I would be buying it in the future anyway…

Image

Lady of the Shades, another of his adult books has recently been released, and I read that over Christmas, it was absolutely fantastic, and possibly one of my favourite reads. I love a good twist!

Now, I’m onto his latest series, Zom-B. Zombies scare the living daylights out of me (The Walking Dead gives me nightmares), but a trip the pub to watch the football last night resulted in me reading the whole book, I can’t wait to move onto Zom-B underground. I need to take my time with these because the books will be released over a period of time, and I get impatient waiting to find out what happens!

I know full well I’ll end up reading Zom-B Underground this weekend though, I just can’t help myself!

signature

Leave a Reply

