(Sophomore Slump or) Comeback of the Year

Image

Photo from Google Images

I nearly cried when Fall Out Boy announced they were going on hiatus three years ago, so of course I almost cried again when I found out they had come off hiatus and were making music again.  I was so excited! Beyond excited, even! From Under the Cork Tree is by far one of my top 10 favourite albums of all time.

As soon as I heard Fall Out Boy had announced they were playing Reading and Leeds festival this year, I knew this year would top last! When I heard they were playing the 500 capacity of Camden Underground in London, I nearly wet myself with excitement, but knowing that getting tickets for that show would be like gold dust, I tried my best not to get my hopes up. The day tickets went on sale, I sat nervously at my desk in work as Pete tried to get tickets. I was watching the clock in the corner of the computer and as soon as 9am hit, I got a text “I got tickets!” I started shaking and nearly crying with excitement and happiness, knowing how lucky we were, especially when I saw so many tweets of disappointment.

Train tickets were booked, hotels were booked, tickets were sorted and then the count down! It could not come quickly enough, I did nothing but dance around the apartment to Fall Out Boy for days. I even made a playlist on my iPod from photo of the setlist I’d seen online.

We arrived in Camden about 4.30pm and already the queue was huge. We didn’t join until about 7pm, and to a great relief, the queue moved swiftly. The wait for Fall Out Boy to come on was so intense, I was growing really impatient (it most definitely isn’t one of my strong points). Due to come on stage at 8.30pm, they were half an hour late to ensure the whole of the queue was in before they started, so nobody missed out. Kicking off with Thriller, the crowd went wild! The setlist was pure gold, blasting tracks such as Dead On Arrival, Nobody Puts Baby in the Corner, What A Catch Donnie and with a medley of Honorable Mention, America’s Suiteharts, Lake Effect Kid, Alpha Dog and Calm Before the Storm I have literally never seen something so perfect! Especially having never seen them before.

Ending with Saturday, Wentz went crowd surfing after a two hour set, ending what was the best evening of my life (maybe I’m exaggerating). With a hint of more UK dates to come (maybe) and the promise of them playing Leeds festival this year, I can only wait again for the excitement that’s to come.

This is definitely the comeback of the year!

Setlist:

‘Thriller’
‘I Slept With Someone In Fall Out Boy And All I Got Was This Stupid Song Written About Me’
‘A Little Less Sixteen Candles, A Little More “Touch Me”‘
‘Dead On Arrival’
‘This Ain’t A Scene, It’s An Arms Race’
‘Nobody Puts Baby In The Corner’
‘I’m Like A Lawyer With The Way I’m Always Trying To Get You Off (Me & You)’
‘Tell That Mick He Just Made My List Of Things To Do Today’
‘Grand Theft Autumn’/’Where Is Your Boy’
‘Hum Hallelujah’
‘Dance, Dance’
‘Honorable Mention’/ ‘America’s Suiteharts’/’Lake Effect Kid’/ ‘Alpha Dog’/ ‘Calm Before The Storm’
‘What A Catch, Donnie’
‘The Take Over, The Breaks Over’
‘I Don’t Care’
‘My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark (Light ‘Em Up)’
‘Disloyal Order Of Water Buffaloes’
‘Beat It’ (Michael Jackson cover)
‘Sugar, We’re Goin Down’
‘The Patron Saint Of Liars And Fakes’
‘Thnks Fr Th Mmrs’
‘Saturday’

signature

Leave a Reply

